earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

You are being watched!

Close-up Surevillance

The more I looked at yesterday's Heather Moorland the more privileged I felt to live where I do. Ilkley is a pretty special place, but it was special on an altogether different level last night. And as with Monday evening, I had it all to myself. Much as though I like the peace and solitude, it seemed a shame not to be able to share my sense of wonder with anyone else. But at least I could share my blip with you lot. Thanks for allowing me that enjoyment.

The pleasure I took in taking that shot last night has at least made up for what has been a frankly awful day. Web-based systems are so damn complicated at every level that although in many ways software has never been easier to create, it has never been more difficult to install and get it working properly on new infrastructure. So many things have to be in place, and if just one piece is missing or not installed correctly, then the software refuses to play and rarely gives much of a clue as to why. This afternoon I just felt like running away to the hills with my camera and not coming back.

So another day goes by where, thanks to all your comments, I find myself on the spotlight page come the evening. I do feel very honoured but perhaps also a little embarrassed because I've been struggling all week to keep up with other people. It's not something I like to rush because I enjoy it so much. I always want to respond thoughtfully when a blip touches me in some way ... and so many do. I think everyone knows the score.

The predicted rain arrived exactly on cue the moment I got home at 7pm, leaving me a limited choice as to what to blip. I only had the chance to take a few shots by the canal when I went for my lunchtime sandwich. The berries featured here belong to a beautiful shrub, the leaves of which are now turning from a pale green to myriad shades of a kind of lilac - and with these really intense pink stems. Does anyone know what it might be? Are these berries edible? I was very tempted to try them but I remember having a bad experience with Deadly Nightshade when I was a kid. So I though better of it!

Edit: With many thanks to gpzero I think this has now been identified as a Black Chokeberry, the name of which suggests that the berries are so bitter that they make you choke, but seem to be good to eat and with high nutritional value. I'll let you know tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.