Et Aetatis

By Biota

Finding inner peace in Kung Fu Panda 2

I set aside the whole day of work to practice my presentation and to fine-tune my final report. First I had baked end of summer chocolate chip and white chocolate macadamia nut cookies (tried them for the first time!) for the interns, so people kept coming by my desk to get cookies. Then I went to the final presentations for the seniors. Then was lunch, and after that was meeting up to take a group picture of all the interns. When I had finally settled down to work for the last couple hours of the day, Cynthia's mom came by, and we must have chatted for forty minutes.

Tasks for after work: bake two batches of cookies, pack for the retreat, finalize the final report, and practice my presentation.

But Jess is back after a year in South Korea! So against my better judgment, I went to see Kung Fu Panda 2 with her and Paul. Given how stressed I was, it was a little ironic that one of the themes of the movie ended up being "inner peace."

Jess brought back presents for me too! Now I have socks with the adorable faces of Kim Bum and Rain on them, a CD by the indie Korean band Mate (a favorite of mine), and a chicken cell phone charm.

Despite the fact that everything on my to-do list was more or less finished (or pushed back and rationalized), this is an example of how my time management and prioritization needs serious work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.