The Poss

By PossMan

Black sheep day

Delving around in my files came across this piece of history relating to one of my distant relatives Samuel Chatwood. With others I've traced over 400 descendants of a couple of this name who lived in Edenfield in the early 1800s. They include the safe-maker also called Samuel. The document is dated 1901 and as Queen Victoria had died just a couple of months previously they have had to scrub out the "her" Majesty and change it to "his". I think these bastardy orders, equivalent to modern maintenance orders must have been pretty common at the time. I notice at the bottom it says the mother doesn't get the money if she's liable to transportation and a bit surprised that was still a possible sentence.

PS. Better say I'm not a descendant of this man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.