Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

"Mary Doll" at The Riverside Museum

The figurehead on the Tall Ship "Glenlee" at the new Riverside Museum in Glasgow. Our first visit, and although we waited until most pupils were back at school, it was still mobbed. We did meet an old friend from our school days - he said I didn't look any different - that made my day!

Good to see many of the classic exhibits still on show in a new home, and some innovative displays, particularly the model ships, and the recreated streets. I didn't find my favourite Triumph Herald, but there are some fire engines - that will keep Dad happy when he goes. A lot to take in, so will be returning soon.

However, I feel the exhibits are rather crammed in, and I wished I'd taken my 50mm, as the lighting is low. I was also rather irritated by the two red wheelie bins right outside the door onto the waterfront - they certainly don't blend in with the design at all. I wonder what Ms Hadid would think of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.