A year of adventure

By sjones

An eventful 'walk'

This is Rumble, looking very cute fetching her frisbee. About 30 seconds after I took this photo she ran off. Into a fenced off area which has lots of shrubs and prickly bushes in it and wire fencing running round the outside. She refused to come out for 3 hours. We walked around the edge several times, it got so dark that we had to get torches and Dad and Michael came to join me and Mum in the 'dog hunt'. At about 10 we came home, as she knows the way home from the field and when she has run off before has returned home whilst we were still looking for her. We had a quick bit of dinner, as Mum and I set out to walk her at about 7.30 when I got home from work, so we hadn't eaten yet. Then Dad and I went back down to the field to see if she would come back now. As we got into the first field Dad said to me that we would have to listen for her because it was so dark when we saw a pair of eyes lit up by the torches. I called her name and she came running towards us at great speed. She ran up and lay down beside me and I got hold of her by her scruff. I picked her up and Dad put a lead on her. We carried her back like this, as we didn't trust her not to be naughty again.

So what we set out as a half an hour walk turned into a 4 hour mad dash around. When we got Rumble home she drank a lot of water, we had to brush out the grass seeds in her coat, and then flopped down on her bed. She knows shes been naughty though, because when you call her she comes right away and is being very well behaved. I wonder how long it will alst, shes never been that naughty before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.