A Pilgrims Progress

By PilgrimChris

Anniversary.

Today was the anniversary of my reception into the Roman Catholic Church.
I grew up in the Anglo-Catholic arm of the Church of England and was Christened and Confirmed as such. The church I attended the most in my early years was St. Mathias in Nottingham (now long since gone) which was a High Church and the vicar, Father Bennett, was very catholic and indeed become a Roman Catholic priest upon his wifes death. Thus my formative faith years were of a very traditional catholic persuasion.

Indeed it wasn't until much later in life (when I was rediscovering my faith) that I realised I wasn't 'Catholic' in the Roman sense of the 'One True Faith' at all. However, I WAS catholic in my heart and soul and thus I wanted to be formally received into the Church.

Without boring you with details, I was eventually welcomed into the Church at Mount Saint Bernard Abbey, a Cirstercian monastery in Leicestershire on this date 3 years ago.

Happy Anniversary!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.