Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Study...

... of a ladybird in her hand.

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1352247]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

Am going to keep the editing details to a minimum as I get the impression that I've gone into too much depth in previous entries. Plus, I had a weird experience earlier where someone decided to tell me that my shots were 'poor' (on another site) and it's made me temporarily a bit self conscious about sharing my processes when the outcome isn't always that great! Now, I'm not saying my images are particularly good, but uninvited criticism which isn't constructive is a strange thing especially when it's actually kinda daunting to share your images anyway!

So, anyhoo... there was a bit of editing in cloning out a stick to the right hand side. I then selected the white part and applied a gaussian blur to it as my editing was rubbish and you could see the tell-tale signs of cloning. Then, I've brightened it a little using an adjustment layer, choosing a warming Photo Filter layer to help with the area of her face which was in shadow. Plus, used Filter > Render > Lighting effects and an omni spotlight set to lighten blend mode and with the opacity reduced to make it a bit more subtle just to lighten her face.

Tiny bit of dodging and burning and adjusted the colours slightly to bring them out. Sharpened and saved.

Tip of the day:
Nothing really to do with today's image, but I saw this Light Painting Photography Tutorial and it's a note to myself to have a go at that some time in the future!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.