Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Black and blue...

... and pink and green.

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1353565]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

Very little editing with this one. It was taken with my 28mm prime lens and I can't even remember if I did or didn't use my Raynox 150 adaptor with it. I think I didn't, although often I do for shots like this.

Anyway, let's imagine I didn't. So, what I wanted was a narrow depth of field - which means you need a wide aperture (in this case f/3.2 - the smaller the 'f' number, the wider the aperture and the narrower the depth of field). Focused on the blackberries at the front, then took the shot. Oh, and I forgot to say, I spot metered for the lightest bit of the blueberries. If I'd have exposed it correctly for the white plate, then everything else would have been underexposed. I did tweak the RAW file slightly to give it a slightly high key feel, but if it was very underexposed that wouldn't have been possible.

The only real editing in Photoshop was a bit of a crop to the right hand side to balance the shot a little... oh, and I duplicated the background layer... then did Filter > Other > High Pass filter, set it to about 20 pixels, then changed the blend mode to 'soft light'. Added a layer mask to that layer and used a black brush to get rid of the sharpening effect on everything but the berries at the front. Don't know why I find it so hard to get blackberries properly in focus, but I do! Anyway, the high pass filter is great for things like this.

That was about it really!

Tip of the day:
Not really related to today's shot, but it was an article I thought was interesting called '10 Top Tips to help you define your photographic style' - definitely gets you thinking about what it is you want from your images and why you're taking them. Plus, the yummy shot of the cranberries made me want to take a photo of my blueberries which I picked today too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.