Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Peacock Butterfly

Quite overwhelmed with your response to the Misty LochFyne shot , absolutely chuffed by so many hearts and stars and wonderful comments also for hitting and staying on the spotlight, many, many thanks to all of you.

Today I had to go over to Balfron to pick up John and Oscar so I went out into the garden this morning, still very pleased to see butterflies back after such a long wait this summer, saw this peacock , a red admiral, a painted lady and lots of cabbage whites.

Just as I was packing the car I spotted dragonflies over by the pond so delayed leaving until I had a look at them. I was thrilled to see both a male and a female southeren hawker and, to top that , a golden ringed dragonfly , have never seen one of those before. Trust them to find the most impossible spots to settle.I did get sharp , detailed shots of them but the back ground was either too fussy or the flowers were dying and should have been dead headed. Will be doing that tomorrow before they come back.

How come I have lots of lovely flowers and plants some of which are there specifically to encourage the dragonflies to land so I can photograph them but they choose the dead leaves etc ? Is that what they mean by " Sod's Law" ?

Off course leaving late and finding the Loch Lomond road particularly slow with heavy traffic on both sides of the road I was very late getting to Balfron. So there wasn't much time for any scenic shots even though it was a bright August day.

Tonight's upload is bcak to nature with this peacock butterfly. LARGE might be worth a look just to see those eyes.
Hope you all have a great weekend.
Mary

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.