Views of my world

By rosamund

Guitar

Best bit of the day was the final Bennett-fest in Renfrew before Ewan and Suzi move down south and Alasdair puts the house on the market. It was great to be (almost) all together and we the kids especially had fun sorting through their cousins old toys and blagging their favourites, we've come home with quite a few cars, and Ewok and some transformers which Noah was particularly keen on. Freya also got an old guitar which she was delighted with.

I have come away with 4 boxes of old family memorabilia. I have already started sorting through them as I won't keep it all. Highlights are - grandma's wedding dress, a photo of Winston Churchill (which Carlos is fair tickled by), a photo of my mum as a teenager which illustrates Freya's likeness perfectly and photos of Greenock & Gourock in the 1920's - fascinating!

What is also really nice is that the children are looking at all the old stuff and it is helping them remember their great grandma. Three years ago we were all at Alasdair's following grandma's funeral, although we miss her I know she would love that we still get together and spend special times as a family even although we are living further and further apart. She made us the family we are today and for that I will always be grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.