Views of my world

By rosamund

Bridal

By the time grandma let me try on her wedding dress aged 15 I was already too big for it, at 12, Freya just managed to squeeze into it. Grandma never struck me as particularly small but I guess the dress tells its own story.

We had a great day looking at all the old stuff and sorting through it, I have condensed a total of 7 boxes down into 4 well organised ones. I particularly enjoyed reading a diary my papa kept on a naval mission in February 1941 and was delighted to find his naval service record as I had just recently been saying it was a shame that those memories had been lost. At least Noah will have some interesting source material when he does his p7 topic on the second world war.

Freya helped me all day and she absolutely loved it. She said she feels she knows grandma and papa better now. We both noticed how nice it was to look at the past without the sadness of having just lost someone as is so often the case when you find yourself sorting through boxes and deciding what should be preserved.

Fred also enjoyed the day as he has adopted one of the empty boxes to sleep in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.