The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Elephant Hawkmoth Lavae

The sun is out! The sun is out!

The wildlife garden is teaming with bees, wasps, the odd gatekeeper butterfly and hoverflies, so it was a chance to take some new insect macros.

I thought I had got my blip when I got this nice shot of a honeybee.

Dawn was having a wandering around the garden, when she gave out a little squeal and hopped.

She had nearly stepped on this monster of a larvae. I knew it had to be one of the Hawkmoths, as they are the only ones to have caterpillars that big. A quick squizz on google ID'd it as a Elephant Hawkmoth Larvae.

This is really cool, as this is one of my favourite moths. I managed to get a picture of one a while back when it got trapped in the lab overnight.

Looking at their diet, they love fuchsia buds. As we have a massive fuchsia in the garden I am guessing this is where he came from.

A hugely impressive insect, and believe me, there were a few large beasties and bugs in the garden today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.