The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

He's Behind You!!

Done something today I haven't done for ages. I spent the whole day on the Newport Wetlands RSPB Nature Reserve.

I have visited regularly over the past months, but this is the first time in ages I got there at half nine and left at half four. I met up with my twitter friend Dave The Lorry Driver (perhaps we should rechristening Dai Drive in true South Walian fashion?).

It was a glorious day, possibly the best taste of summer we have had this year!

It was pretty quiet on the reserve. Not a lot of excitement. The main purpose of the day was to give the new scope a test drive. After the failure up on New Fancy Viewpoint last month, I managed to watch some birds that were slightly more exciting than a woodpigeon!

I was very impressed with the scope it must be said. What looks like a wader-less shoreline, was actually teaming with birds when I looked through the scope. Little Ringed Plovers, Curlew, Godwits to name but a few.

There was not a lot to take photographs off. Managed to get quite a nice shot of a female Wheatear on the shoreline. There was also a heck of a lot of Small Tortishell Butterflies about.

I spent the afternoon in the hide, hoping to catch sight of a hobby hawking for dragonflies, or the pair of marsh harriers there, but nope. The bearded tits and little owl once again eluded me!

All in all a good day, even if it wasn't brilliant on the birding front. It won't be long before the seasons change and the reserve comes to life again with the huge numbers of starlings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.