Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Granny's Cows!

Well technically they're William-the-farmer's cows but Henry is convinced they belong to his Granny!

We took a walk up the lane to see them being milked. I've never actually been in a milking shed before. I was amazed at how the cows knew exactly what to do without being told! Just open the door and let them in. They queue patiently then trot into the stalls and stand still while William and his son connect them up to the pumps. It's all over in a few minutes then they get a nice feed.

William is terrific to talk with and he gave us a potted history of milking.

Noah loved the 'baby cows'. He didn't want to leave.

Quote of the day:

Henry: "Excuse me William. Is your dog supposed to be eating that placenta!"

I didn't even know he knew what a placenta was! Obviously he was listening when I explained pregnancy to him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.