Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Harvesting the wheat

When I was a small child, many years ago, our wheat was never harvested until the third week of August, that, my father said, was when it was ready. Other grain crops could be harvested earlier, but not wheat.

Here we are some sixty years later and what are they doing in the field near my home and in the fourth week of August, harvesting the wheat; and I thought everything was supposed to be earlier now.

I took several pictures this morning, but I was not particularly happy with any of them. Then I went to feed my daughter's animals, (she is still on holiday) and on the way back I noticed the combine harvester. I took quite a lot of pictures of the activites, including removing the grain from the harvester into one of the trailers, but on the whole I liked this one best.

I still have the dust up my nose, in my hair and on my T-shirt, but I think the pictures were worth the dust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.