CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Stranger on the street in Stroud

A few of the people involved with the regeneration of Lansdown Hall met there this morning. I've mentioned before that the town council has bought the building to preserve its function as a centre for local activities, acting like a village hall for the town.

We are chasing opportunities for grant funds and have a deadline for submissions quite soon, so this meeting was to coordinate the information which we need to present. Jeremy, who is the chair of the trustees who now manage the activities in situ, is also coordinating the Stroud Fringe Festival, which starts on 3rd September, and they will be using Bank Gardens, which are adjacent to the Hall. We achieved a lot and I took many pictures, as I like to have them for our archives to show the various stages of the developments to the building.

Camilla and I left the meeting and strolled through town to got to the council offices, to meet the Town Clerk. As we chatted about our other responsibilities as trustees of Stroud Preservation Trust, she suddenly commented to this man admiring his hat. I thought they knew each other, because as we had been walking down the street, we had met someone we knew every ten yards, as one does in Stroud.

In fact they didn't know each other, and Dave was very happy to pose for this quick snap, which was done virtually without thinking on my behalf, hoping for the best. He then asked to see my camera in close-up, said he was a Nikon man and was a very keen photographer, although in a rather quiescent mode at present. I mentioned Blipfoto to him and he said I should look at his photo website (here) where he has many images he shot in India.

Dave was full of energy and good fun, so I want to thank him for letting me blip him today. He thought the cigarette in his mouth was a good idea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.