The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Black Darter

A female black darter at Foulshaw Moss.

A far too busy day at work with no time for escape at lunchtime, so I went to Foulshaw Moss on the way home. There are still lots of black darters flying, and an Emperor Dragonfly was patrolling the pond (and eluding all attempts to photograph it in flight). I have blipped the black darter before, but thought it worth showing this one which gives a better impression of the whole insect - with just a touch of iridescence on the wings.

The mature males are much blacker and have so far escaped capture for a blip this year, though I did manage a reasonable photo last year with the compact camera.

It was a difficult choice between the black darter or a male emerald damselfly. I have put an image of the damsel in the blipfolio.

There were two ospreys on the Moss again, and in one of the pines a huge platform of twigs has appeared. It was thought last year that the two birds that lingered in late Summer were juveniles that might come back and breed. They haven't bred this year, but this looks suspiciously like a breeding platform. I need to find out more.

Excellent news - Eduardo and Katya are getting married next year, two weeks before my nephew Edward and Anna. So we shall have a busy April in 2012. I am also relieved to report that my Dad has finally escaped from hospital tonight, he'll be heading home to Southampton on Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.