The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Damsel

Male Common Blue Damselfly, Foulshaw Moss, Cumbria

At the end of the working day the blip cupboard was distinctly bare, so I diverted to Foulshaw on the way home. It was just starting to brighten up after the afternoon's heavy showers though few damsels and dragons were flying. I was lucky to find just a few common blue damselflies. This is one the commoner and more widespread species in Britain, though no less attractive for that. They are coming towards the end of their season now, which peaked in July.

It rained so hard this afternoon that at one point in the office we had a waterfall cascading off the main roof onto the flat roof of the extension. It was good luck that I managed to miss the worst of it when walking back down from Oxenholme Station after a trip to Warrington in the morning.

I'm a bit comment-light tonight. Blipfoto seems to have fallen over and it is taking forever to open blips and post comments. Will catch up tomorrow, I need my ugly sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.