Painting

We had a day to ourselves today so I thought I'd take us to a new(ish) cafe in Sale which I've been hankering after a visit to for ages! It's a cafe with a studio attached where you can do pottery painting and something else which my tired brain has forgotten. It wasn't the most relaxing of experiences mainly because Ben was so tired that he could barely concentrate but actually we had a lot of fun painting this mug together. It was a proper collaborative affair and I think I can safely say Ben enjoyed himself as much as I did :o) As a recce for potentially taking two hyperactive toddlers and three exhausted adults there on Thursday morning, it went pretty well!! I've promised Ben we'll go back and he can paint an aeroplane...

After lunch we went out to visit Grandma at her work. I had to talk to Ben the first part of the journey as we needed to stop off at Halfords for something and I really needed him not to fall asleep before we got there. Once I'd found and bought the thing I was after I tipped Ben's chair back so he could go to sleep for the rest of the (15 minute) journey - it took him all of 30 seconds to fall fast asleep and start snoring. He'd been tired all day, we both had, neither of us slept particularly well last night.

So. A 15 minute nap. Half an hour running round mum's reprographics machinery which is currently set up in a school hall, and then back in the car - where he was very definitely not going back to sleep.

One exhausted boy developed a headache in the evening. Mum reckons his "broken eye" which he complains of occasionally might actually be a headache just behind the eye. It could well be - so she popped out to the shops for medicine for him. While she was out he put himself to bed. Wearing just a tshirt and his shoes. He was pretending, but he said he would like his pyjamas on really! Medicine had, he then discovered quite by accident that he could do rolypolys with a run-up onto my bed!! (It's 7 seconds long, and worth a giggle!) Sadly it ended in tears when his last roll landed him in the bookcase with a bump to the head. Inevitable really, but it was fun while it lasted.

Bedtime was interesting. He happily got ready for bed, screamed through having his teeth cleaned (we've been a bit lax cleaning his teeth and I think his gums hurt :-/ so we have to tell him every time we clean his teeth now that the more we clean them the less it will hurt, but he still cries), then when he got into bed, he complained his tummy hurt really badly and he needed a wee but couldn't do it in his nappy, so we had to get up - but by the time we walked into the next room to find the potty he didn't want to take his nappy off but thought he was going to be sick so we now have a bowl beside his bed. I hope the bump to the head isn't connected to the tummy ouch. I'll keep an eye on him tonight and tomorrow anyway. I hope he's ok, I hope this isn't the start of a Poorliness, and is just due to all the topsy-turvyness of the last couple of weeks and lack of sleep.

I shall be off to bed too as soon as I've said hello to my sweetheart on sykpe, when he gets back to his lodgings and has had a shower!


House update: the new wall up the staircase and all the steelwork have all been plasterboarded today; the concrete gets poured tomorrow for the dining room floor base. The pictures Steve has been sending me look Very Dusty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.