Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Summer Surrender

I am surrendering to the fact that this is the final Monday evening of my summer break away from the campus. The autumn semester begins this coming Monday. I am grateful that I have a Tue/Thurs schedule so will not have to be in the "jam packed rush" of Monday.

I am also surrendering my evening to sitting in the heated bubbly water of our pool spa. I hadn't really planned on that because the day wasn't all that terribly hot and I didn't figure Mr. Fun would want to; he hadn't wanted to when I mentioned it Sunday evening, but we have had some rather cool evenings. So when he said right after dinner, let's get into the spa, I was a little surprised. So whatever it was that I thought I needed to do, just got sidelined.

I am surrendering also to the fact that I have posted entirely too many pool photos during this season, but they will stand as evidence on my side when Mr. Fun tells me months from now that we don't use our poool nearly often enough. At that moment I will open my Blip journal pull-up the thumbnails and the verdict will be in. We do use our pool. Certainly we don't live in it day and night. I'm sure he'd love to get a big 'ol floaty and sleep on the water some night -- he is so crazy. He did think at the beginning of summer that we needed to sleep in the new sheds -- he thought he'd convince me that it would be romantic. I thought it would be just crazy.

So today is a summer surrender. Honestly, August has been a surprise and a delight because we enjoyed getting "lost in time" and "lost in California" as we did our "road trip' early in the month, and we've continued to experience that free-floating feeling as we have done some vacation "staycation" days here at the house.

I'm too wordy again, sorry!
Surrendering in Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. Backblipping about 14 hours late because we soaked in the pool till bedtime. Sigh!

P.P.S. A year ago in Laguna Beach ---------- >

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.