Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Deep in Thought

I'm sure this photo is too similar to yesterday's entry, but this photo displays what we did today. This is way too long and way too emotional -- I don't expect anyone to read this.

We decided to walk south from our motel room just to get some exercise and to see the sights. As we walked along, every few minutes I would say to Mr. Fun, "Hey, I'm going to stop to see if I can capture this with my camera." So we'd pause and a few minutes later move on down the walkway.

At some point I told Mr. Fun that I sure would like to capture the glassy look on the face of the waves. He pulled out his camera and did a pretty good job, but it uses HD and mine doesn't. After shooting toward the waves, he did what he had done yesterday and captured one of me when I was unaware.

I was just standing and staring -- taking-in the entire view of Main Beach Laguna and south past the Laguna Hotel and on toward Pacific Edge, the hotel where we had stayed last April and last January with Bob dog.

This was a very sentimental, nostalgic, emotional day for me. I guess for a combination of reasons: we've walked Bob dog along that stretch of coast many times; the end of summer is taunting me; the beginning of a new semester is approaching; but most likely it was just hormones.

As we walked along every time I saw a dog, my eyes filled with tears. Even though I believe it is good to cry, I blinked like crazy and swallowed a lot and did everything possible to not let anyone, including Mr. Fun, know that I was holding back a flood of tears . . . sobbing in public isn't acceptable, is it?!

So when I saw this photo I knew it captured the moment for me. From now on every time I see that photo here in my Blip journal I'll remember that moment and what was happening in my mind.

I'll also remember that the temperature soared today so the beach was crowded with the folks who live inland and were trying to escape the heat.

We also stopped in to see an "Open House" at two condos that are For Sale. They are both in the same facility--on a huge rock foundation that hangs out over the water. I told Mr. Fun we were window shopping and honestly we couldn't even afford one of the windows. The most expensive of the two places is listed for $3,750,000 -- egads! I could send an email to everyone I know and most likely everyone of us throwing in everything we own couldn't afford it. The place was build in 1960 and sold then for $55,000 -- wow! Even though we couldn't afford one of the windows, we did marvel as we looked out the windows to the ocean and the beach below us. So that's what it looks like to be rich.

I'm not rich, but I do think I'm wealthy, not in money, but in relationships. And if I had to choose between rich or wealthy, I'd choose wealthy every time.

Later in the day our dear friends, Scott & Peg, drove in to meet us here in this coastal community so together the four of us could attend the Sawdust Art Festival and enjoy the live music. Yes, we're all pretty crazy about live music. So we had a fun evening with them. Peg starts back to teaching geography tomorrow as the new semester begins at Cal State University Fullerton. So I'm sure she didn't enjoy the evening quite as much because of that.

Overall, it's been a good day, just more emotional than I would have chosen. And yes, that is my "bliptogether" shirt . . . seems like I'm wearing that shirt every time I get blipped. Honest I do have other clothes, but it is a favorite shirt. Are any of you like me and have about three favorite outfits that you wear over and over?

This is our fifth and final night at this lovely location. I'm looking forward to going home -- I love home -- but honestly, I haven't gotten homesick at all while we've been here. I love the ocean and this beach community feels like home. As I look at that photograph of me looking south from Laguna's Main Beach, it all feels so comfortable, so alive, so home. I can feel my emotion rising again, so I'm stopping now.

Thanks for reading this far. Good night from Laguna Beach.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.