Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Early Evening's High Tide

I woke early this morning to the music of the ocean's waves coming so clearly up the pathway between the houses -- as lovely as a song. The air was perfumed with the mild fragrance of mingling geraniums and nasturtium. This little motel is tucked into a truly lovely neighborhood.

Late this afternoon, actually early evening, we returned from spending a few hours enjoying the live music at the Sawdust Art Festival. I told Mr. Fun that I was going to walk to the shoreline to take a few photos, and he said he'd accompany me.

As we descended the stairway to the beach, we realized that the tide was high. He started telling me what might make a good photo so I handed him the camera while asking him to capture what he was seeing. Meanwhile, I put my iPhone to work capturing a few angles to send to friends by email.

Now after downloading our point and shot camera, I realize Mr. Fun captured a shot of me and my phone. It's not the best photo of the day, but it's evidence of where we were today, so I've chosen it. Some of the other photos he captured reveal the ocean's powerful poetry. I'm sure you can imagine mighty waves crashing on the shore's rocky edge and foam thicker than a Guinness. It was more than spectacular. But this blip, well, it's me in the shadows, with distant colorful umbrellas, and billion dollar homes on the edge of the cliff (just below our inexpensive little motel). Years from now it will have a power on my family's emotions that is stronger than the waves.

Have I mentioned that I love the beach, the ocean. I feel more alive here than just about anywhere else.

And then one little side note just for me, I haven't mentioned this to Mr. Fun today, but it's been on my consciousness all day, it was this date in 1983 that my mom at age 57 breathed her last. I still miss her every day. I wrote about her a year ago (see the thumbnail photo on the bottom of this page).

Good night from southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. We had another "Mallary" moment today as passed the Laguna Bakery, I strolled in and took a photo of the many delicate delicious pastries and texted it to her. What fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.