Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Life in the Slow-lane

Thanks to everyone who looked and who commented yesterday regarding my story of Mom. Your response was warm, heart-felt, and very tender. I write so that someday I can give this journal to my kids, grandkids, and great grandkids. I want them to know something of the threads that were woven into the fabric of my life.

Today was a do-nothing, stay-home, non-overwhelming kind of day--I am thankful for life in the slow-lane. Posting a photo that captures this day may have been today's biggest event.

So, thinking about Mom causes me to think about Dad and that causes me to think about Dad's mom, Grammie Teele. I have blipped and written seldom about her--I think once at the beginning of my blip journey. Grammie lived in the coastal city of Carlsbad in northern San Diego County.

When I see nasturtium, I am reminded of Grammie, who always had some growing in her yard. I am glad we have nasturtium growing here too. I love its unique fragrance.

Someday, not today, I will write about Grammie. She was born in 1885 and lived to be 91 years young. She was 41 when she gave birth to my dad and never dreamed she'd live long enough to see grandkids. She did and even lived long enough to see and hold both of my children. She was remarkable. Her story will be posted on a future day, but not today.

Thanks for reading my journal and for encouragiing me.
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.