August Wildflowers

Contrary to popular opinion, it does not rain every day in Oregon. In fact, every year about now, most of the grass in Coos Bay turns brown because it's spoiled the rest of the year, so it pouts in August. It seems that one day of rain will restore it to its lush green state, so I know it's just pouting when it turns brown.

I have captured a hand full of the wildflowers that grow in August~my favorites. I'm kind of a wild flower freak. I love them more than the refined flowers that gain so much more attention.

Today as I pondered the wildflowers while driving through town, I also thought about friends. You have all been so sweet in your comments to me. You have shown yourselves friendly and I have done my best to do the same. It reminded me of Proverbs 18:24 "A man who has friends must himself be friendly, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother." Initially, friendships take a concerted effort to get to grow. When I first joined blip, I remember feeling kind of shy and I realized that the only way to actively participate in this community was to jump right in with both feet and show myself friendly and hope that no one told me to get out of here because I was annoying them (flash back to my youth, I'm afraid). But as time has gone by, I have seen those who continue to drop by and check on our fellow blippers who are having or have had trouble in their lives even when they couldn't comment. The first such person was our Polly470 (Every day, in every way) who has a way of blipping snails that no one else has quite mastered. I'm not the only person who has stopped by to see if her friend is better or if she will be returning to blip soon. I do miss her.

Of course, Molly (Tuscany) rocked our world when she left us with Luigi looking up at her for ever and a day. She has received more comments since she passed than I've ever received and I'm still alive! Now that's faithful to the end and beyond! What a treasure Molly was!

Some of you are in the hospital now and there's no need for you to worry, we are true friends, we won't leave you behind.

Wildflowers are stubborn like that. They're beautiful and they just keep coming back and you don't even have to water them. They're faithful, interesting and drought resistant. Like true friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.