A time for everything

By turnx3

Wildflower by the pond

Tuesday
Another beautiful day - a bit warmer, but still quite pleasant. My car was in for a service today, so I went for a local walk - walking to Pioneer Park. It's only quite a small park, but it's provides me with quite a few photos throughout the year, especially this year. Last year they were doing a lot of work around the large pond/small lake - they drained a lot of the water out of it at one point and it looked quite ugly for a while. Initially the only difference I noticed were a few concrete slabs built out into the water - I'm guessing maybe for fishermen - and they had installed some sort of metal gridwork under the water around the edge. Then as Spring appeared and turned into summer, quite a number of plants and flowers appeared around the lake - so I'm assuming the metal gridwork was to provide a basis for the plants. The plants of course have attracted butterflies and dragonflies - hence more photographs. Now I have to try and figure out why they've chopped down a load of trees along the stream. I keep checking in the monthly neighborhood bulletin for an explanation, but if there's been anything, I've missed it!

Edit: Following the comment by Mimthing, I searched the plant on the internet, and she seems to be quite right - I believe it is a Sensitive partridge pea, and the leaves will sometimes fold up when touched. I haven't yet been back to try it out!

One year ago: Powis castle and gardens

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.