boldsans

By rubyjones

How to make people want to kill you.

Havana 1.30am.

We have been shooting since 7.00am.
Tempers are beginning to fray.
I am feeling slightly hysterical.

We are watching the monitor to look at the footage being shot,
when Jason, our Canadian cameraman starts doing this weird
'pointing torch into the eye thing'.
I haven't seen this before, and I've done a ton of shoots.
I know it must be for technical reasons, but does look bloody funny.

I shout out:
"OI!! THIS ISN'T A FUCKING GARY NUMAN VIDEO YOU KNOW!"

I know, I know, it isn't funny, but I thought it was at the time.
Jason nearly takes his eye out as apparently I shouted rather louder than I thought.
The producer gives me a dirty look as we're meant to be discreetly shooting in a quiet neighbourhood. The director is just too fucking young to know who Gary Numan is. And the crew, who mostly don't speak English, just think I'm a tosser.

Going home today. Bloody brilliant inspiring place.
Keen to avoid Hurricane Irene which hits Cuba tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.