Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hummer in Flight

I've been trying to get a good photo of one of the male hummers in flight, but just haven't been able to get one I like. However, bright and early this morning one of the juveniles flew right up as I was hanging the feeder. I was able to take this from within two feet which was pretty amazing. I did get off a nice shot of one of the males here, and another female/juvenile in flight here.

The first time I ever realized we had hummingbirds up this way was about 8 years ago when I found one flying around in our garage, exhausted and panicked. I had no idea how to get him out, but knew that if he stayed there much longer, he'd die. I ended up getting a very tall step ladder, climbing up it, and literally scooping the little guy into my cupped hand. I remember so clearly how it felt when I gently closed my hand around him and his wings stilled and I could hear his tiny little heartbeat. It was a magical moment and one I will never forget. When I got outside, I opened my hand and he just sat there for a moment, then flew off.

They will be starting their fall migration soon and I wonder how many of them will make it. My husband laughs at me and all of my hummingbird feeders, but I keep telling him that I am trying to make sure they are fat and strong for their long journey. And, I sure will miss them when they've gone...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.