Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Look! A white giant with no hair!

Once you get out of the city and visit the kampungs (villages), most children have never seen a white guy before in their short lives, especially a bald one. So I can imagine the conversation between these three inquisitive girls, ?See, I told you, a white giant with no hair?, ?Whoaaa!!?

I clocked these three at the window and knew I would only have a split second to get the shot, because as soon as I turned around, they would run away giggling and screaming. So I took a knee for a low angle, which peaked their interest even more, popped the flash up, adjusted the zoom and focused on an object the same distance, swivel and blip. The shop owner was trying hard not to laugh, but not having much success.

The chances of this kind of shot coming off are not high, but well worth the effort when they do. Kampung kids are great blip material and I am sure I will be posting a lot more in the future.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.