Snapshooter's Diary

By jesalonen

Gardening

I planted this today. It is called Ipomoea, and the color of the flowers is quite unnatural. That's good, I wanted something special.

Like everybody, I used to shoot a lots of flowers when I started. There is something fascinating in those shapes, forms and colors. Then, I got interested about other things but there is always a special place for flower photographs in my heart.

I remembered this early enthusiasm when I was in Mapplethorpe's exhibition. "Whether it is a cock or flower, I'm looking at it the same way" said Mapplethorpe.

I was surprised that after working 15 years with substance abusers, I did not know until I found it from the web that people are actually eating the seeds of Ipomoea to get high. Works like LSD, they say.

Nature is just amazing. So is human imagination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.