Perhaps I'll Die

See them?

That's not birds flying in the distance, that's clouds of blood lusting insects.

Speaking to one of the anglers up there as I snapped away with the camera, he mentioned there's an Osprey been spotted out and about around the Dam here. It looks like the evening clouds of midges encourage the fish near the surface, even leaping out the water to grab themselves some fast flying food, and this encourages the Osprey to swoop down and grab itself a fish supper. Didn't see any Osprey, but there were plenty fish jumping and I seemed to be sitting on the same level of the food chain as them with the amount of midges I managed to ingest on the bike run around Gartmorn this evening.

Other than worrying about being an old woman that swallowed a fly it was a good blast around the track dodging the other cyclists/walkers/horse riders that use the area. Free snacks too. The road into the park's good fun, runnning the gauntlet of the Buckfast swilling and potty mouthed yoofs. Fine, as long as you don't make eye contact and react to the 'Nice handbag ya puffy bastard' comments (not sure if that was puffy as in plump or due to the fact that I was breathing hard through trying to bomb up the hill that bit faster than I estimated they could run).

Still picking midges out of my teeth.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.