Eyelash Moments

By eyelashmoments

Mocha Cake

I spent the day baking a mocha cake (two cakes) for an event tomorrow night. The event should be small but I wanted one with coconut flakes on top and one without since I know some people have an aversion to coconut. The second (sans coconut) caved in a little, so we'll see if I can salvage part of it. Well, salvage pieces that would be presentable for others. As long as it's not doughy on the inside when I cut it tomorrow, I'll definitely salvage it for myself. My freezer is full of baked goods.

Baking is always a lot of fun for me. I enjoy the process and, of course, the outcome! Part of the process for me is investing in creativity. I need an empty kitchen while I bake because I always watch TV or listen to music. I'm inspired by seeing others use their creativity so watching a good TV show or reading a good book always spurs me on to continue writing. Listening to music gets me thinking about my stories--current and new. Sometimes I'll add a song to the "soundtrack" for a WIP and sometimes I start creating a new "soundtrack" for a future story.

While baking these cakes I alternated between watching H2O: Just Add Water and listening to Adele. I don't think there is one song that isn't magnificent on her latest album!

More on the event this cake is for later. The recipe is not my own and can be found here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.