Eyelash Moments

By eyelashmoments

Reading Salon

Friday night, my friend Heather hosted a Reading Salon at her apartment. I invited Sarah (pictured) and we met with Heather and a few of her writing friends. I love gathering with other writers, to be with like-minded people. It's always invigorating and inspiring!

We started out the evening and general chatting before moving on to writing-related topics. We ended the night with the reading and each person read excerpts of some of their latest work. It's always wonderful to hear a writer read their work and in a group setting like this, where each person reads at once (instead of one or two, as in most writing workshops I have been part of) it's fascinating to hear the variety that is presented. One thing we noticed at this reading is that while there was a wide range of topics, they held some common themes. So cool!

I would have taken pictures during the actual reading, but as it was my first time meeting most of the people present I wasn't comfortable whipping out my camera and taking pictures. I would have taken pictures of Sarah while she read, but it was her first time sharing her work with people she didn't really know and she was nervous enough as it was. I was worried she might hurt me afterwards if I started snapping pictures during her reading!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.