Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Invasion!

It's not everyday that you look up to find a young heifer standing in your flower bed, and then, as you go out to protect your broccoli and beans discover four of its sisters have joined it.

Fortunately by the time I got up the steps to the edge of the garden the lad who was moving the herd from the field above our house to the one below was trying his best to get them out! What all the excitement did for their pregnant condition is anyone's guess but the last I saw of them they were haring off down the road with two adults and two children in full pursuit! Fortunately there didn't seem to be any lasting damage (at least to the garden) - though one of the heifers clearly escaped and ended up outside the Velocity Office in Sheffield!

We had a very enjoyable work meal to mark our retirement. F. has worked at the GA for over twenty years (while I have done a mere 5) so it was a particularly poignant moment for her. The photos from the evening were not brilliant so not chosen as my blip - but I might get around to posting some of the better ones on my Flickr page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.