Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

A kindle kind of day!

On the whole, this has been a day when my energy levels have been at quite a low. They perked a little this morning during Tai Chi but then slumped after lunch. I'm not sure if it was the lack of caffeine in the coffee this morning or simply lack of sleep. Anyway we called in the supermarket to buy coffee with caffeine in this afternoon and since we've got home I've had a strong cup and think I'm feeling a little more with it (I only usually drink coffee in the morning.)

We've bought the bench for the allotment with our discount card but the replacement table will need to be ordered on the internet as it was too wide for my car - this is where my son-in-law with his truck would come in handy, but alas he's a long way away from us in Oz.

I've been reading my way through Sarah Dunant's trilogy of books set in Italy. Sacred Heart is the first I've read on a Kindle and I'm really hooked by the story (I've almost finished). I love the Kindle (a present) too. The first book of hers I read was `The Birth of Venus: love and death in Florence', which was a book group read. I really loved it (set in Renaissance Italy), this was followed by `In the company of the courtesan' (set in Venice) which was recommended by friends. I think she's a very talented writer and story teller though some of the book group were not quite as keen as I was. When I finish Sacred Heart it will feel a bit like losing a friend - you get books like that. Reading this book also coincides with our visit to the priory for the funeral so has had an added resonance. And as I'm also trying to put together a memorial book of photographs to celebrate Mother Thekla's life there's is another emotional link going on for me at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.