The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

He Who Laughs Last ...

Goodbye To All This. Pt 2

Sometimes things just turn around and bite you on the arse.

In my 19 years at Nipa/ Clariant there are very few products I disliked testing. Most of the ones I did we stopped producing years ago.

Last weekend I tested a plant boil out sample. They clean the plants out, we check that previous the material has gone before they reuse the plant for something else.

When I found out the next product was something called PZI, I did a little dance of joy. PZI is a bugger to test. Lots of fiddly solutions to make up, and small quantities, with little margins for error. It was my last shift, so it would be coming up on my opposite shift partners scheduled four days. I would miss the last batch of this we are probably going to make!

I texted him, giving him the good news. You know when you do something, and you immediately know it's going to come back to haunt you ...

Fast forward four days ... Text off opposite shift partner. They had problems manufacturing it, so it was coming up on shift one of my days!

He who laughs last, laughs longest!

I tested it yesterday. After much furrowed brows, and a lot of time and care, it passed.

I won't miss it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.