Common Eggfly

This little fellow, yes, it is male, was flying around near our backdoor this morning. He didn't seem shy at all. At one stage he even landed on me which made my day. In my 43 years I can't say I have ever had a butterfly land on me.
We got the camera out and he was quite happy to pose and eventually, after a few very close fly bys, he landed on Jo's arm. I took a few pictures and managed to get really close before he flew away.
I looked up the species just before I did this Blip. The species is call the Common Eggfly, not a very flattering name, and it turns out that the males are highly aggressive in defending their territory.
I wonder if this one was being aggressive towards us or if he was using us as hired muscle to help defend his patch. I rather like to think the latter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.