GReadyBoy

By greadyboy

Proms!

A day of travelling.

As most of the population seemed to be doing it, we thought we'd join in.

The motorway was great fun.

Crawled along the M5, then walked along the M4 to Swindon.

Stopped off at AKST's then caught a train to London.

Pasta on Kensington High Street (wasn't as posh as it sounds).

Then a short walk to the Royal Albert Hall.

My first time ever, sorry for the rubbish photo, it's from my phone, but it shows our view pretty well. Absolutely amazing!

And the seats were on such a steep gradient the people in the row below were at my knee height! No possibility of crazy tall people blocking the view.

20 minutes of Strauss then a 20 minute interval. I don't understand how a pianist's hands can move that fast. Total blur.

Then they whipped out the big guns. Full orchestra including 4 harps, 4 percussionists and 2 celestas (had never seen or heard of these before, anyone know anything about them?). 85 minutes of Mahler later and I've decided I want to be in an orchestra and come to the Proms many, many more times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.