middleman

By middleman

Trail

A day of doing as little as possible. Recovering from a much too late night and much too early start.

Last night's free Unbound event at the book festival was great fun, James Yorkston playing with Johnny Lynch (AKA The Pictish Trail) and Lisa O'Neill. I'd never heard of Lisa before and she was a bit of a tricky one to get a handle on at first, a very unusual voice indeed. James Yorkston I knew some of his stuff and he was kind of what I was expecting (in a good way, of course). As for Johnny Lynch, well, his voice was just plain gorgeous, and along with his guitar playing and in-between song banter he was a real highlight of the night for me. Definitely one to go and see again.

There were a few non-Lynchian tracks in amongst his repertoire, including snippets of Donna Summer's 'I Feel Love', George Michael's 'Faith' and ,er, I couldn't make this up if i tried, Right Said Fred's 'I'm Too Sexy', but his acoustic rendition of Hot Chip's 'Boy From School' was performed in full and well, it was, no other words for it, stunningly beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.