Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Souvenirs!

I awoke this morning and tried to move.

Mistake!

Everything from my thighs downward HURT!

"How DO they do this 3 days in a row, sleeping in tents in between, without being crippled for life?" I asked myself.

"Oh yes, most of them are 20 years younger than me, a LOT fitter, haven't spent the last 2 years living on quetiapine and custard, and aren't 4 and a half stone overweight" I thought, as I hobbled to the ensuite.

Downing a few ibuprofen with my usual morning meds, I ate my morning pancakes and collapsed onto the sofa, even finding typing up yesterday's blip rather hard work!

Then I fell asleep again - well, I'm not really used to 3am bedtimes!

I woke briefly to eat lunch, then nodded off again.

By that time, the ibuprofen was doing its job and I could walk fairly comfortably again. I cleaned out the rat cage - the only thing that would stop me looking after my little men would be actual death - mere destructed knees, ankles and feet would not deter me!

Now I'm trying, gently, to get the house a bit sorted because it's back to the work regime tomorrow!

In the picture you can see: my lanyard programme from Reading, the Wonderspouse's wristband (which he managed to get off in one piece - I had to cut mine), and the bit that fell off the car on the way - if you want to know the full story of yesterday, it's told in the rather lengthy blip commentary!

We were supposed to be deciding what to do about the car today.

We haven't!

Maybe tomorrow!

Oh, and the GOOD news about my ageing and feeble frame - I have not the slightest bit of ache in either my back or shoulders. When we went to Reading 2 years ago, both my back and shoulders were in extreme agony by the time Radiohead started their headline set!

But now I have a strong back and strong shoulders - thank you swimming!

Just need to spend all winter walking to strengthen my legs now, and lose the extra weight so that they don't have so much work to do! Can't do much about the getting older bit, but I can work on the rest!

By next summer I'll be bionic!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.