Re-Vision: A Photo Journal

By shellkaysm

Light Over Shadows

First day of 6th grade is now in the books-for my daughter, that is! The bus was 25 mins. late in the morning & afternoon. The school is 10 mins. away but her ride was 1 hr. & 15 mins. How crazy is that? Hope it was just a rough commute due to some road issues or the new driver. <--That's me trying to be optimistic :)

All the dramas that come with middle school are exhausting. The kids can be so nasty & the expectations of each teacher seems different. Half the 11-12 yr. old girls wear makeup & dress trashy. I'm proud that my daughter has morals & respect for herself & others. Supplies we bought for one class didn't suit others..so, Hannah's backpack gets even more heavy as we dip in for more funds & scramble to accomodate the ever-growing demands.

Can you tell I'm frazzled with the whole public school system?! Ugh! I actually used to be a teacher, but the politics on the faculty vs. administration end left me disenchanted. Now, as a parent, things are just as annoying. The focus is always in the wrong place for the wrong reasons. Good kids get lost in the system instead of rewarded more often than not. It's sad.

Anyhow, this afternoon, I took a shot of what may be the last red rose of summer on this vine. Thought I'd savor it with a blip. Guess it matches my day: looking for the light over the shadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.