how it is

By flashmaggie

A lonely little Christmas tree in a shady patch

This poor little tree was left in my care last winter, as my son and heir and his beloved planned to dig it up and decorate it again this year, when they return from foreign parts. I delegated the job of planting it at the bottom of my garden to Wolfy, my gardener friend. He could have chosen a better place. It's not dead yet, as there is some new growth, but it isn't very happy. The bit where the fairy (or star) sits seems to have lost all its needles. If it survives being dug up again and put in a pot, I promise to take better care of it in future. Or maybe I'll be relieved of the responsibility. Either way, it won't be lonely for much longer.

PS: Friend has just referred to this as a "quitmastwee", which I prefer. Henceforth, it is a quitmastwee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.