how it is

By flashmaggie

Ducks crossing

Went for a ride around the village this afternoon (I use a mobility scooter). This family of ducks looked as if they knew where they wanted to go. Fortunately, this was a side road and nothing was coming, apart from me. There are two or three duck families in the area. This lot seems to have diminished in number. The worst culprits, when it comes to duck fatalities on the roads, are probably delivery drivers who never slow down or make allowances for wildlife.

About three years ago I was visited by a couple of mallards for several weeks. They used to wander up my front path to clear up spilt food under the bird feeders and poke around under the plants for snails. One day I found the drake dead on the road, squashed flat. I scraped him up and disposed of him, poor thing. His wife hung about for a few days, then disappeared. It was very sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.