While on my runs

By waipushrink

Coffee and book

At 0638 on Ponsonby Road.

This morning's run took me along Ponsonby Road through Three Lamps and then Herne Bay to Coxs Bay and back home through the parks. I have often seen this man with his book and his coffee sitting outside one of the early opening cafes along Ponsonby Road; today I decided to stop and take a photo.

Just as I got it all framed and focussed, into the scene came a couple jogging along, although only the man entered the frame. I really like the way his right foot is seen both in mid air and hitting the pavement, and his left arm is also duplicated. The blurring might suggest that he is moving quite fast; my reason for saying he was not is that I quickly caught and passed them and I am no longer fast!

It is no longer winter cold, but it is also not yet warm. Nevertheless, he sits outside (always) and as I don't run this way on the same day each week, this may be a daily routine for him. Having not sampled the coffee, I do not know if he is here because of the coffee, or something else. I doubt if it is the passing parade, as I have not once seen him look up from his book, even when reaching for the coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.