While on my runs

By waipushrink

A clean pair of heels

Another example of "street art" spotted while on one of my runs. I have seen it often, and even tried for a shot to blip before today. Decided before going out, that this would be it.

In mid July this year, as part of a recruitment campaign for the New Zealand Police, a series of stencilled scenes were sprayed on to urban walls in Auckland and other New Zealand cities by the artist, Otis Frizzell. Within days of their appearance, they were tagged and defaced.

This one is on the corner of a small street with K Road, near to many night clubs, and the main red light district of the city. It depicts two women constables chasing an offender on foot. The two officers successfully arrested him. The activity featured (the chase and the nabbing by a waiting officer) took place on this street corner.

The artist has returned a number of times to respray the stencils, and the taggers/defacers are back as quickly. The first time I saw it was when it had already been defaced, and this is the best I have seen it; with the least amount of paint, paper or tags over the officers.

Throughout the six or seven weeks that it has been here, the offender has been left without any tags or defacement. Although Police expected some attention from taggers, it appears they have been somewhat surprised by the speed and extent of the negative response. Not surprising given that Police will arrest taggers.

I have discovered that Frizzell was one half of the 90s hip-hop act MC OJ and the Rhythm Slave, who included in the repertoire an item called "Marijuana". Following are what I found is said to be the words:

And so we had another joint and it tasted delicious.
And I saw this man lookin' sorta suspicious.
I went up to him and said "You want some of this, man?"
He said "No - I'm a policeman!"
I said "Oh, man! Please don't bust me."
"Have a toke. Come on, man - trust me."
I offered him a toke and he took two.
And I thought "Oh, man. This is too good to be true."
And so we finished the joint and the policeman went away.
And all he had to say was "Have a nice day!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.