The Kestrel

Today I ran again to the waterfront. The light is right at the time I go for my morning runs, and without too much of an effort I can get down to the wharves about the time the sun emerges above the horizon.

Today I have chosen this picture of the old Auckland harbour ferry, the Kestrel. Built at Chas Baily & Sons' shipyard in Auckland, the 39 metre long dual direction ferry was launched in December 1905. She was built of kauri sheathed in totara, and is the last of the original Auckland Harbour fleet, being retired from service little more than ten years ago. The original steam engine was replaced by a diesel engine (which is still in place) in 1950. Many of the original features remain.

When the Original All Blacks returned from their 1905 tour of Britain, the Kestrel carried them from their liner to the civic reception. If it wasn't the Kestrel it was one of her sister ferries on which I crossed the harbour on a rugby trip as a schoolboy, before the Auckland harbour Bridge was completed. I remember with my old camera taking a carefully positioned photograph to show the Bridge as complete rather than still missing the middle section.

The Kestrel Preservation Society intends to restore the Kestrel to working order (after ten years as a floating restaurant and conference venue in Tauranga), and have her gliding again on the Waitemata Harbour for the benefit of the whole community. 

I really like the way that the ferry and the storage tanks behind are catching the morning sun, which is then reflected in the water.

I have come back to add that this really should be seen large

Additional Note: I was talking to S about what else I'd seen this morning and she liked this as well

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.