A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

5 Rise

Took myself on a little walk today along the canal from Bingley after my hair appointment.

This is the 5 rise locks on the Leeds - Liverpool canal at Bingley. I can't believe that after 514 blips I haven't taken this before. I have taken photographs in the other direction when walking to Saltaire but have obviously not bee here for 18 months or so.

The milestone by the locks says Leeds 16 1/4 miles and Liverpool 111 miles. We have done quite a lot of walking in the Liverpool direction in the past. It was easy walking to get me back in my stride after a foot operation a few years ago. You can walk to Skipton and on into the Craven Dales. There are great views of people's lovely canal side gardens.

Today I took the view down the locks from above. You can often see barges going through and today one had just got to the top. I had a coffee and toasted tea cake at the cafe on the canal side. Nice little outing but it started to rain as I left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.