Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

Wait'll I show this to my dad!

I've had a few of these moments lately - Trouble is my dad passed away 2/11/06.

You'd think I'd get it by now, but I still have these moments . . .

Dad was an avid hunter who, when he had to use more than one cartridge to down his family's venison for the year, he quit hunting altogether. I share that tendency toward perfectionism with him, and do my very best (with serious help) to keep it in rein.

Today was a glorious day, a trip 120 miles one way to the dentist for a crown and a root canal. There was also some shopping and serious communing with my life-mate on the way. The crown and root canal (two separate teeth) were pretty easy, and the rest was downright delightful.

It was the shopping part that led us into this big outfitters store. The deer you see was shot and stuffed the year of my birth, a serious amazement to me. And since my dad was not only a hunter but an archival taxidermist for the university when he was fresh out of college himself, I guess it's understandable that I would think of him.

So, I'm sure he's amused and pleased at how happy we all are, and maybe a little touched that we still think of him.

You see, before he passed he got to know my beloved wife, and he loved her too.

A glorious day indeed.

~:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.