Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

I miss my 8X10 . . .

. . . Kind of . . .

This is a lovely package shot of our little town - taken from a fire observation tower on a hill just to the south of the city center.

I think of the detail I could have gotten back when I was shooting 8X10 Ektachrome sheet film, even with the ancient Ektar lens.

Then, I think of lugging that huge wooden monster around with its fifty-pound Majestic tripod, changing bag, film holders and all, all contributing to the potential of 'dowager's hump' in my old age . . . And the expense! $1.50/sheet for film (1975 dollars) and probably at least that to develop it in my sweaty darkroom.

So, it is a lovely shot . . . nicely composed . . . beautiful day . . . fair detail . . .
Taken with a point-and-shoot I happened to have in my pocket . . .
While I was out enjoying a day with my most beloved and not planning the day around transporting and manipulating my camera.

I'll keep the point-and-shoot . . . and the wife.
Thank you God!
~:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.