hello again

By admirer

DANGER

at the rails. When I was a kid we lived in a tiny rented house (owned by Oosthoekbeton in Zoeterwoude Rijndijk). Our view over the rather busy road to Leyde were the meadows till the horizon. Later Heineken build there their enormous brewery and storage, but by that time we had moved to Leyde.
I had two elder brothers and sometimes we walked over the meadows towards the railroad and listened with our ears down the rails to hear the train coming. Such a thing was utterly forbidden but I learned from how far you can hear the train coming.
When Mischa and I followed the learning path they had a bare tree horizontally laid and one person could scratch at one side and another person had to close her eyes and hear the sound of the scratching at the far away other ending. (how workes the telephone) and it was said that the squirrels high up the trees could hear a perpetrator approaching.
At the station in Karlshafen every two hours, one 10 before and one 6 after the whole hour, there stop two trains. At 6 am, 8 am, 10 am etc. till 8 pm, and one lonly train coming from Göttingen at 10 pm.
My yesterday's cat (that I never had seen before) could very well hear the train coming not only by the sound of the rails but also of the motor and the sound of the brakes.
I enjoyed very much all the different comments on her.

My haiku:

My heavy dream I take
With me into the dark green sea
Leave it for the fish

Perhaps I could have said Leave it for the gulls or perhaps better for the fish and the gulls.

The proverb from Shakespeare applies to my blipadventure:

Pleasure and action make the hours seem short.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.