Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Visionary

This morning I met Portland peace activist, street performer, filmmaker, rebel, artist, world traveler, and visionary, Tom Chamberlin. I thought we were just going to meet to discuss art and politics, but by the end of our meeting we were envisioning a production, some form of street theatre for peace, which we hope to make happen SOON.

Here's a man with joyful energy, fierce determination, and a lifetime of experience using art to make political action. "What I do is bear witness," he tells me. "I'm here because that's what I can do. I can be here, bearing witness." A trillion dollars for the war machine and we "don't have money" for education, health, and basic social services.

In order to find time to work with Tom and what we hope are a critical mass of peace activists ready to do something, I need to get off the computer and do some practical thinking and networking where I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.